Joni Lovenduski & Joyce Outshoorn

Professors Joni Lovenduski (Birkbeck, University of London, UK) and Joyce Outshoorn (University of Leiden, Netherlands) were awarded the first Gender and Politics Career Achievement Award at the 2009 ECPR General Conference in Potsdam, Germany, 10-12 September 2009.

Professor Lovenduski’s nomination highlighted her “pioneering research on the representation of women in politics and public life and her long-standing contribution to women and politics within ECPR. Her work has led to a raft of well-regarded academic and policy oriented publications: Professor Lovenduski’s research has altered perceptions of the problem of women’s under-representation and obliged political parties to take measures to confront the issue of women’s legislative recruitment. Her work has also led to important inputs to debates on these issues at the European level, through her role as consultant to the European Commission and the Council of Europe. As one of the first generation of gender and politics scholars in the UK, Professor Lovenduski has acted as a mentor and inspiration for subsequent generations, not least through her own research, but also as one of the founders of the PSA Women and Politics Specialist group, the founder of the Standing Group on Women and Politics of the European Consortium for Political Research and, at the individual level, in actively encouraging and supporting younger researchers.”

Professor Outshoorn’s nomination highlighted her “outstanding international contribution to the comparative literature on gender and politics, spanning such topics as the women’s movement, abortion politics, state feminism, trafficking and prostitution. Theoretically her work has been grounded in social movement theory, policy processes, organizational and state theory; and a major theme in her research has been linking movement actors to policy processes. Often she has focused on the Dutch case, putting it in comparative perspective; but she has also authored introductory and concluding chapters providing insightful syntheses of country comparisons. Equally important, but less visible, are the processes of collaborative research that lie behind these books, and here Joyce has played a key role through her constructive criticisms and generally keeping the projects on track. She has also been a mentor and model for a new generation of feminist scholars. Many of the books have grown out of ECPR workshops, which makes it all the more fitting that Joyce Outshoorn should receive the award.”